Viewing Exasol Tables in Oracle

exa-Chris
Community Manager
Community Manager

Dear Community,
today I have the pleasure to ask questions on behalf of one of our customers.
The Customer is running Oracle with additional two projects on Exasol.

Is there a way to show Tables or Views in Oracle from Exasol. Like a reverse Virtual Schema

Looking for some input from our Oracle+Exasol Gurus

May be @tpetrik or @mwellbro or @exa-Kristof have an Idea?
Thanks

Christian

Connecting Customers, Partners, Prospects and Exasolians is my passion. Apart from that I cycle, listen to music, and try to understand what all those technical discussions really mean...
6 REPLIES 6

exa-Kristof
Team Exasol
Team Exasol

I've never used it that way before and I'm not sure if it's actually possible. The ORACLE_LOADER does not seem to offer a generic approach. But I'm no expert here, pretty sure Malte has better insights.

Can you elaborate on the usecase? Maybe there are alternative solutions to the customer's challenge.

mwellbro
Xpert

I think this is possible, though I´ve never seen it first hand - the magic words would be "Oracle Gateway" or a bit more specific the Oracle heterogenious connectivity.

It pretty much revolves around setting up a few configurations around your listener.ora and tnsnames.ora and using the generic ODBC interface that´s available ( dg4odbc ) , then you should be able to set up a database link to your Exasol system and use it in the typical database link kind of way ( so "select * from exa_dba_tables@my_exa_odbc".

Hope this helps to set you/them/anyone on the right track.

Cheers,
Malte

tpetrik
Xpert