lua pquery parameter passing inconsistent?

ronaldvr
Contributor

Hello, I am relatively new to Exasol, but something is happening that may be a bug or me doing something wrong (or having expectations that do not correspond to what actually should happen. I have a query as follows:

CREATE TABLE DESTSCHEMA.TESTTABLE like GLOBAL."CamelCaseView"; 

This works as expected. Now in Lua I use the statement

local create_success, create_result = pquery('CREATE TABLE ::st.::n2 like ::sc.::n1', {sc=source_schema, st=target_schema, n1=source_object_name, n2=target_object_name } ) 

And I get the error message:

table: \"DESTSCHEMA\".\"DESTTABLE\" creation failedobject GLOBAL.CAMELCASEVIEW not found [line 1, column 78]" 

The pquery.result.statement_text gives:

CREATE TABLE USER_RONALDVANRAAIJ.CAMELCASEVIEW like CDS_GLOBAL.CustomerAllSharedContactTouchpoints 

SO I though, perhaps I interpret the manual wrong, so I tried this:

local create_success2, create_result2 = pquery('CREATE TABLE ::st.::n2 like ::sc.:n1', {sc=source_schema, st=target_schema, n1=source_object_name, n2=target_object_name } ) 

No Dice

The pquery.result.statement_text:

CREATE TABLE DESTSCHEMA.CAMELCASEVIEW like GLOBAL.'CamelCaseView' 

Gives the error:

syntax error, unexpected UNSIGNED_NUMERIC_LITERAL_, expecting END_OF_INPUT_ or ';' [line 1, column 88] 

And oh this:

local create_success2, create_result2 = pquery([[CREATE TABLE ::st.::n2 like ::sc."]]..source_object_name..[["]], {sc=source_schema, st=target_schema, n1=source_object_name, n2=target_object_name } ) 

Does work, but is not how you would expect pquery to behave.

7 REPLIES 7

exa-Chris
Community Manager
Community Manager

@Francesco if I remember right you played around with Lua a lot...

Connecting Customers, Partners, Prospects and Exasolians is my passion. Apart from that I cycle, listen to music, and try to understand what all those technical discussions really mean...

ronaldvr
Contributor